Me and My Neighbor

Image

“…Love your neighbor as yourself. (Mt. 22:39)”

My thoughts on life preoccupied me these days, and I found myself challenged. I am challenged by the fact that many news sources are mentioning that there is violence against life. These forms of violence emerge in different ways, and I admit that I found these “wrapped in beautiful boxes”. Violence now turns to deceit – making people believe that such proposals are for the purpose of development. Well, look again!

It takes a third round of eye, a critical and keen eye, to discover the truth behind proposals presented before us. It takes a lot of courage to seek what is true, uncover it, and fight the deceitful. The battle for life is not new, but is evolving in new forms, which, if we are not careful, might do real harm for us.

I have known some of my friends telling me of their regret for doing “harm” to others because they thought that these proposals are worth-believing at an instant. Now, how many more of your friends would tell you of their regret, and us sitting down doing nothing about what happens today? I know this blog post would be so small a voice, that it takes concrete witnessing to fight and defend life, especially the innocent ones.

Now, we cannot let the inordinate and selfish so-called “dreams” of those who think that “life is under man’s manipulation” to make the final say. The younger generations are directly affected by what was quoted because they are the direct recipients of the so-called proposals offered by those who control life. I say that we let the youth dream according to what is authentically life-giving.

True development starts from developing the basic unit of community – and that is the human family. What good are high-rise buildings and esteemed organizations if they do violence against human life? We all have the power deep within to resist the wrong notion of “progress” and “development” that treats human life as mere commodity. My proposal is to start on interdisciplinary researches in different fields: science, technology, philosophy, psychology, medicine, theology – and let these fields dialogue together, plus a firm plan of action. Doing research on human life may become a noble act to stand for life because such stand comes with affirming the truth about human life.

This time, we take our stand: we stand for “authentic human development”.

We stand for life!

One thought on “Me and My Neighbor

Leave a Reply

